The Hunger Games Movies: A Complete Guide to Watching Them in Order

by Tara Price

3rd September, 2023

The Hunger Games Movies: A Complete Guide to Watching Them in Order

The Hunger Games franchise took the world by storm with its gripping story, memorable characters, and thought-provoking themes. Whether you’re a die-hard fan or new to the series, watching the movies in the correct order is crucial to fully immersing yourself in the dystopian world of Panem.

In this comprehensive guide, we’ll walk you through the correct order of the Hunger Games movies, provide background information, and share some exciting details about the upcoming prequel film, The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes.

The Hunger Games Franchise: A Brief Overview

The Hunger Games movies are based on the immensely popular young adult dystopian trilogy written by Suzanne Collins. The series is set in the fictional nation of Panem, a post-apocalyptic society divided into twelve districts ruled by the wealthy and powerful Capitol. To maintain control and punish the districts for a past rebellion, the Capitol hosts an annual televised event called the Hunger Games, where two teenagers, known as “tributes,” from each district are forced to fight to the death.

The film adaptations of The Hunger Games were distributed by Lionsgate and produced by Nina Jacobson and Jon Kilik. Starring Jennifer Lawrence as the fearless protagonist Katniss Everdeen, the movies captivated audiences worldwide with their compelling storylines, talented ensemble cast, and stunning visual effects. The franchise consists of four movies: The Hunger Games (2012), Catching Fire (2013), Mockingjay – Part 1 (2014), and Mockingjay – Part 2 (2015).

The Order of the Hunger Games Movies

To fully appreciate the story and character development in The Hunger Games franchise, it’s essential to watch the movies in the correct order. Each film builds upon the events of the previous one, creating a cohesive narrative that unfolds over the course of the series. Here’s the correct order to watch the Hunger Games movies:

  • The Hunger Games (2012)
  • Catching Fire (2013)
  • Mockingjay – Part 1 (2014)
  • Mockingjay – Part 2 (2015)

By following this order, you’ll experience the story as it was intended, witnessing Katniss Everdeen’s journey from a reluctant tribute to a symbol of hope and rebellion against the oppressive Capitol. Each movie explores different aspects of the dystopian world, introduces captivating new characters, and delves deeper into the themes of survival, sacrifice, and the power of unity.

The Hunger Games: A Closer Look at Each Movie

  1. The Hunger Games (2012)The Hunger Games kicks off the franchise, introducing us to the world of Panem and the resilient protagonist, Katniss Everdeen. Played by the talented Jennifer Lawrence, Katniss volunteers to take her sister’s place in the Hunger Games, pitting herself against the brutal challenges of the arena and the ruthless competitors from the other districts. The first movie sets the stage for the rebellion that unfolds throughout the series, highlighting the stark divide between the opulent Capitol and the oppressed districts.
  2. Catching Fire (2013)In the second installment, Catching Fire, Katniss and her fellow victor, Peeta Mellark, portrayed by Josh Hutcherson, face the consequences of their defiance in the previous Hunger Games. As the Capitol tightens its grip on the districts, Katniss becomes a symbol of hope and resistance, sparking a growing rebellion. The movie delves deeper into the political intrigue behind the Hunger Games and intensifies the emotional stakes for our protagonists.
  3. Mockingjay – Part 1 (2014)Mockingjay – Part 1 takes a different approach by focusing on the aftermath of Catching Fire’s events and the burgeoning rebellion against the Capitol. Katniss finds herself in District 13, a hidden stronghold of resistance, where she is persuaded to become the Mockingjay, a symbol of hope and defiance. This movie explores the power of propaganda, the toll of war, and the personal sacrifices necessary to fight for freedom. While some consider it exposition-heavy, it sets the stage for the explosive conclusion in the final installment.
  4. Mockingjay – Part 2 (2015)The Hunger Games saga reaches its climax in Mockingjay – Part 2. Katniss and her allies embark on a dangerous mission to liberate the Capitol and overthrow President Snow, played by the incomparable Donald Sutherland. This movie is a thrilling rollercoaster of action, suspense, and emotional revelations as the rebellion faces its most formidable challenges. It’s a bittersweet and poignant conclusion to the series, showcasing the true cost of war and the indomitable spirit of the human will.

The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes: The Upcoming Prequel Film

The Hunger Games franchise continues to expand with the highly anticipated prequel film, The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes. Based on Suzanne Collins’ novel of the same name, this film explores the early years of President Coriolanus Snow, the antagonist of the original trilogy. Set 64 years before the events of The Hunger Games, the story follows a young Snow as he mentors a tribute in the 10th Annual Hunger Games.

The Ballad of Songbirds & Snakes is slated for release on November 17, 2023. Directed by Francis Lawrence, who helmed the later Hunger Games movies, this prequel promises to provide a deeper understanding of Snow’s character and the origins of the oppressive Capitol. Tom Blyth stars as a young Coriolanus Snow, and Rachel Zegler portrays Lucy Gray Baird, the female tribute from District 12.

Where to Watch the Hunger Games Movies

Now that you know the correct order to watch the Hunger Games movies, you might be wondering where you can stream or purchase them. As of now, all four movies are available on Netflix, allowing you to enjoy the entire franchise from the comfort of your own home. Additionally, you can find the movies on various digital platforms, such as Amazon Prime Video, Google Play, and iTunes.


The Hunger Games movies have left an indelible mark on popular culture, captivating audiences with their thrilling storylines, strong performances, and thought-provoking themes. Watching the movies in the correct order ensures that you experience the full impact of Katniss Everdeen’s journey and the epic struggle against the oppressive Capitol. So grab your popcorn, settle in, and immerse yourself in the dystopian world of Panem as you embark on a thrilling movie marathon with The Hunger Games franchise. May the odds be ever in your favour!

Previous post

Be the first and never miss an update!

2024 © All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram