Apples Never Fall — A Deep Dive into the Intriguing Peacock Series

by Tara Price

17th March, 2024

Apples Never Fall — A Deep Dive into the Intriguing Peacock Series

Apples Never Fall is a riveting television series that premiered on Peacock, captivating audiences with its intricate plot and complex characters. An adaptation of the best-selling novel by Liane Moriarty, the show unfolds a mystery surrounding the disappearance of a family matriarch and the secrets that come to light in its aftermath.

Overview of Apples Never Fall

The show revolves around the Delaney family, headed by Joy and Stan Delaney, portrayed by the acclaimed actors Annette Bening and Sam Neill, respectively. The Delaneys are a seemingly ordinary couple who run a prestigious tennis academy in West Palm Beach, Florida. However, beneath the surface of their unassuming lives, an array of family secrets lurks, waiting to be unearthed.

The Delaney Family: A Closer Look

The Delaney family consists of Joy and Stan and their four adult children, each with their own distinct personalities and life choices. Stan, an Australian tennis player, has forged a successful career in tennis coaching and is a pillar of the family. Joy, on the other hand, is the nurturing matriarch of the family, always striving to maintain harmony and balance in their lives.

Their children, played by actors including Jake Lacy, have their own unique challenges and struggles, adding further layers to the family dynamic. The portrayal of these characters, their personal journeys, and their relationships with each other form the crux of the story.

The Intriguing Arrival of Savannah

The plot takes a dramatic turn with the unexpected arrival of Savannah, a young woman who presents herself as a victim of domestic violence seeking shelter. The Delaney family, particularly Joy, extends their help to Savannah, unaware of the secrets she carries and the turmoil she will eventually bring into their lives. The character of Savannah is intriguing, with a mysterious past that slowly unravels as the story progresses.

The Disappearance of Joy Delaney

The narrative takes a dark turn when Joy Delaney mysteriously goes missing. This event sets off a chain of events that exposes the family’s darkest secrets and throws Stan, the family patriarch, in the spotlight as the prime suspect in Joy’s disappearance. The search for Joy and the unfolding mystery surrounding her disappearance form the main plot of the series, keeping the viewers on the edge of their seats.

The Mystery Unravels: The Show vs. The Book

Despite being an adaptation of Liane Moriarty’s novel, the television series takes some creative liberties in translating the story onto the screen. The setting, the character arcs, and even the ending witness a few changes from the original book. The series manages to maintain the essence of the story while presenting it in a new light, making it an intriguing watch even for those who have read the book.

The Ending of Apples Never Fall Explained

The series finale brings a shocking twist to the tale. Joy is found alive, and well, her disappearance was revealed to be a decision made on a whim. She had sought refuge with Savannah in a secluded house in the Georgia mountains. However, this decision leads to a confrontation that almost costs Joy her life. The series ends with the family reuniting and attempting to mend their strained relationships, while the fate of Savannah remains unknown.


Apples Never Fall is an engrossing family drama that keeps the viewers hooked with its intriguing plot, relatable characters, and underlying mystery. Whether you’ve read the book or not, the television adaptation offers a fresh perspective on the story, making it an engaging watch. This Peacock series is a testament to Liane Moriarty’s storytelling prowess and the potential of her work in creating compelling television content.

You might also like:

Previous post

Be the first and never miss an update!

2024 © All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram